Christopher Hogwood--Music - The Making of a Masterpiece

# playlist (click the video's upper-left icon)

source: GreshamCollege      2011年11月3日
Professor Christopher Hogwood's second series of lectures as Gresham Professor of Music deals with the Masterpiece. Professor Hogwood presents a how-to guide and discusses the key features of the greatest musical works in history. This series also features performances by artists from the Royal Academy Music.
The transcript and downloadable versions of the lectures are available from the Gresham College website: http://www.gresham.ac.uk/lectures-and...
Gresham College has been giving free public lectures since 1597. This tradition continues today with all of our five or so public lectures a week being made available for free download from our website.

 Keep It Short: J.S. Bach's Magnificat
The art of being succinct is not one always associated with the works of Bach; in his compact setting of the Magnificat he employs economy and symbolism to illustrate each verse in a few minutes of music which challenge the reader of "de-code" the full message.
 The Joy of Six: Brahms and Strauss  
 Remember Me: Pachelbel, Purcell and Fauré  
 Is it possible? - Mozart's Oboe Quartet in F major, K.370
55:02 The Opening Salvo: Beethoven's String Quartet in F major - Christopher Hogwood & the Wilhelm Quartet
1:01:21 The Challenge of the Solo: The Baroque Violin - Christopher Hogwood & Pavlo Beznosiuk

No comments: