Christopher Hogwood - Music in Context

# playlist (click the video's upper-left icon)

source: GreshamCollege     2013年11月4日
Christopher Hogwood CBE is the Gresham Professor of Music, a world-renowned conductor, keyboard player, musicologist, writer, editor and broadcaster. Having been the director of the Academy of Ancient Music for over thirty years, he currently holds positions at the Royal Academy of Music, the University of Cambridge and Cornell University. In this lecture series, Professor Hogwood invites us to consider the context of classical music's composition. Our idea of the artist is shaped by the modern mores, the artist as an independent creative force, their creations timeless and objective. In truth some of the greatest works were written in entirely alien settings, and for a multitude of reasons.. Professor examines a quartet written to sell a harp, as learning exercises for students and even in the horror of a prison camp. Each Lecture includes live performances by musicians from the Royal Academy of Music.
The transcript and downloadable versions of the lectures are available from the Gresham College website: http://www.gresham.ac.uk/lectures-and...
Website: http://www.gresham.ac.uk
Twitter: http://twitter.com/GreshamCollege
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/greshamcollege

1:01:16 Music in Context: In Prison Camps
A lecture with live musical illustrations on Olivier Messiaen's 'Quatuor pour la Fin du Temps' ('Quartet for the End of Time'), which was composed whilst imprisoned in the Nazi concentration camp, Stalag VIIIA, Silesia, in 1941.
The musicians to perform the piece are as follows:
Oliver Janes, clarinet
Tanya Sweiry, violin
Hannah Rose Innes, cello
Morta Grigaliunaite, piano
1:00:46 Music In Context: An Amateur Domestic Setting
1:00:49 Music in the Teaching Studio: From Bach to Bartók - Dr Stephen Rose & Florian Mitrea
1:04:17 Music In Advertising: Ravel & Saint-Saëns - Dr Stephen Rose and Musicians from the RAM
59:16 Music For Self-promotion: Mozart's Wind Quinitet
55:17 Music in Context: In Abstract - Schubert

No comments: